(Text in the collective exhibition "Worst Case Scenario", Boulevard Malesherbes, April 2021)
 

Louise Vendel's Store is reminiscent of what Mona Chollet calls “the fantasy of a biosphere to oneself” *, this tendency that we have to recreate the exterior inside. The work acts like a trompe-l'oeil, a paper curtain on which is drawn in charcoal, in a shaded forest, a hut that would serve as a refuge. This place reminds us of our childhood, that of endless hiding places and silences. This relationship to the movement of space also occurs with Dug, this discreet painting from which a dog tries to escape. Rummaging in a sofa, he recalls an everyday scene that testifies to the survival of the animal instinct, which strives in spite of itself to seek its prey in velvet cushions.  

 

*  Mona Chollet, The Tyranny of Reality, 2020, Folio




Chloe bonnie more

curator of the collective exhibition

"Worst Case Scenario"

 

April 2021

(about the Still Life installation, Villa Belleville,  February  2020)
 

Louise Vendel questions our relationship with nature. In her installation, sensitivity and harshness of attachment seem to rub against each other. Turning its back on its design, the back of the fence resembles a false landfill - since made of found and interchangeable objects - which would have been invaded by a new invasive species of plant. The arrangement of her works in space thus constitutes an invitation to survey possible frontier spaces. The idea of a phantasmagorical romanticism then becomes intertwined with that of a possible dystopia. The adolescent present seems to ignore the fundamental links which unintentionally link him to a ubiquitous nature. The situation behind the drawing induces a similar divide, between the plant world and industrial pollution. Louise Vendel's installation explores the unconscious limits that we set between an intimate situation and a common environment, between the “cultural” space and the “natural” space.

The arrangement of her works in space thus constitutes an invitation to survey possible frontier spaces which are the promise of a dreamlike world in which to dive, which exceeds reality while resembling it too strongly.




Dimitri Levasseur,

curator of the collective exhibition

"The Raft of the Peaks"

 

February 2020

Louise Vendel
Trompe l'oeil, ear clip / 7th sense

(about the exhibition "Possablement Nous", Galerie du Crous, June 2019)
 

 

Frequently mixing her drawings with architectural elements and designer furniture that punctuate the spaces of her exhibitions, Louise Vendel sublimates the charcoal technique. Her installations explore the unconscious limits that we set between intimate space and common environment, between “culture” space and “natural” space. The arrangement of her works in space thus constitutes an invitation to survey possible frontier spaces - blinds, fences or rugs - which are the promise of a dreamlike world in which to dive, which exceeds reality while resembling it too strongly.

 

Anchored in wild realism, the artist's mental landscapes penetrate the exhibition, interfering  in the reality of the spectator in different forms, in trompe-l'oeil. They reflect reminiscences and clues from a forgotten outside world. The darkness in which they anchor themselves is not without evoking a certain phantasmagorical romanticism, which flirts with a possible dystopia.

 

By a phenomenon of reversibility, on the borders of the reversal proper to irony, the comfortable universe of the exhibition space recalls the intimacy of an apartment, attracting and rejecting the natural, making it as invasive as it is inaccessible. The flies posed on a white wall thus disturb the perception, the framework "  domesticated  Which encircles them constituting too palpable an indication of their imposture. The wallpaper falling in a controlled undulation (which one could also read as a false negligence) responds to the representation of a black and white burning hearth, both made of coal and tending to become it again.

 

As they walk, the viewer thus experiences a disturbing experience of a natural state which will no longer be, or which will only survive in the echo produced by an enclosed space. The sound installation Echo's Travel, while producing a phantasmic light in a dark space, transmits to the visitors of the room the sounds and the words of those who lived there before them. Louise Vendel makes us witnesses to the elusive.

 




Violette Morisseau and  Margot Nguyen,

for Diameter

 

June 2019

(à propos de l'installation Still Life, Villa Belleville, Février 2020)
 

Louise Vendel questionne notre rapport à la nature. Dans son installation, sensibilité et rudesse d'accrochage semblent se frictionner. Tournant le dos à son dessin, l'arrière de la palissade s'apparente à une fausse décharge - puisque fait d'objets trouvés et interchangeables - qui aurait été envahie par une nouvelle espèce invasive de plante. L'agencement de ses oeuvres dans l'espace constitue ainsi une invitation à arpenter des espaces frontières possibles. L'idée d'un romantisme fantasmagorique vient alors s'entrelacer à celle d'une possible dystopie. L'adolescent présent semble ignorer les liens fondamentaux qui le relient malgré lui à une nature ubiquitaire. La situation derrière le dessin induit une fracture semblable, entre monde végétal et pollution industrielle. L'installation de Louise Vendel explore les limites inconscientes que l'on fixe entre situation intime et environnement commun, entre l'espace "de culture" et l'espace "de nature".

L'agencement de ses oeuvres dans l'espace constitue ainsi une invitation à arpenter des espaces frontières possibles qui sont la promesse d'un monde onirique dans lequel plonger, qui excède le réel tout en lui ressemblant trop fortement




Dimitri Levasseur,

comissaire de l'exposition collective

"Le Radeau des Cîmes"

 

Février 2020

Louise Vendel
Trompe-l’œil, pince-oreille / 7ème sens

(à propos de l'exposition "Possiblement Nous", Galerie du Crous, Juin 2019)
 

 

Mêlant fréquemment ses dessins à des éléments architecturaux et à du mobilier de design qui ponctuent les espaces de ses expositions, Louise Vendel sublime la technique du fusain. Ses installations explorent les limites inconscientes que l’on fixe entre espace intime et environnement commun, entre l’espace « de culture » et l’espace « de nature ». L’agencement de ses œuvres dans l’espace constitue ainsi une invitation à arpenter des espaces frontières possibles - stores, grillages ou tapis - qui sont la promesse d’un monde onirique dans lequel plonger, qui excède le réel tout en lui ressemblant trop fortement.

 

Ancrés dans un réalisme sauvage, les paysages mentaux de l’artiste pénètrent l’exposition, s’immisçant  dans la réalité du spectateur sous différentes formes, en trompe-l’œil. Ils reflètent les réminiscences et les indices d’un monde extérieur oublié. La noirceur dans laquelle ils s’ancrent n’est pas sans évoquer un certain romantisme fantasmagorique, qui flirte avec une possible dystopie.

 

Par un phénomène de réversibilité, aux confins du renversement propre à l’ironie, l’univers confortable de l’espace d’exposition rappelle l’intimité d’un appartement, attirant et rejetant le naturel, le rendant aussi envahissant qu’inaccessible. Les mouches posées sur un mur blanc troublent ainsi la perception, le cadre « domestique » qui les encercle constituant un indice trop palpable de leur imposture. Le papier peint tombant dans une ondulation maîtrisée (que l’on pourrait aussi lire comme une fausse négligence) répond à la représentation d’un foyer embrasé noir et blanc, à la fois fait de charbon et tendant à en redevenir.

 

Au fil de sa déambulation, le spectateur fait ainsi l’expérience troublante d’un état naturel qui ne sera plus, ou qui ne survivra que dans l’écho produit par un espace clos. L’installation sonore Echo’s Travel , tout en produisant une lumière fantasmatique dans un espace obscur, transmet aux visiteurs de la pièce les sons et les paroles de ceux qui y sont demeurés avant eux. Louise Vendel nous rend témoins de l’insaisissable.

 




Violette Morisseau et Margot Nguyen,

pour Diamètre

 

Juin 2019

Actualités 

07.2021

Sélectionnée pour la

#71 ème édition de Jeune Création

 

09.10.2020 - 11.10.2020

Image Objet Objet Image - Exposition collective

Atelier Flamme, Montreuil

03.10.2020 - 02.11.2020

Après l'Ecole - Biennale Artpress de jeunes artistes

MAMC+, Cité du design/ESADSE, Saint-Étienne